NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.

dollar-line light
The Magic Flute

Directed by
Clemence Williams

Music by
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto by
Emanuel Shikaneder

21 Oct – 29 Oct 2022
2 hrs 35 mins including 20 min interval

About the show

Mozart’s final opera transports us to a fantastical world of serpents, princesses, trials and mysteries. Good and evil battle, and truth and resolution are elusive.

We invite you to experience a world that feels like 1984 meets Alice in Wonderland meets The Wizard of Oz. Tamino, a prince, has lost his way. He journeys down a deep rabbit hole in search of his true love, Pamina, imprisoned in the Temple of The Sun. Together they navigate the trials imposed by the mysterious Sarastro and the trickery of The Queen of the Night and her cronies. A fairy tale for the ages.

Conducted by Stephen Mould and directed by Clemence Williams, this production teams Sydney Conservatorium of Music performers with NIDA technical theatre and stage management, costume, props, and scenic construction students to take you on a journey into a dream world where we hope we may find fulfillment.


In order of appearance

Queen of the Night
Lana Kains

Alexander Young

Claire Burrell-McDonald

Jeremy Boulton

Olivia Payne

Yuan Gao

Robert Adam

Andrew Taylor Knight

1st Lady
Olivia Swain

2nd Lady
Elise Morton

3rd Lady
Janine Harris

Spirit 1
Anastasia Gall

Spirit 1
Younji Yi

Spirit 2
Natasha Gesto

Spirit 2
Eden Shifroni

Spirit 3
Sophie Mohler

Spirit 3
Michael Burden

1st Priest
Daniel Ott

2nd Priest
Michael Kaufmann

1st Armed Man
Alexander Caldwell

2nd Armed Man
Aidan O’Donnell

Creative Team

Stephen Mould
Omid Moheb Zadeh

Clemence Williams

Assistant Director
Emma Whitehead

Assistant Conductor
Simon Lobelson

Principal Répétiteur
Alan Hicks

Ingrid Sakurovs

German Coach
Anke Höppner-Ryan

Set Designer
Nick Fry

Costume Designer
Rita Naidu

Lighting Designer
Ethan Hamill

Thomas De Angelis
Thomas De Angelis

Production Team

Producer/Artistic Planning Manager
Scott Ryan

Stage Production Coordinator
Thomas Wade

Senior Lecturer Voice and Stage Craft
Anke Ryan

Program Leader SCM Music Theatre
Narelle Yeo

Senior Lecturer Voice
Barry Ryan
Rowena Cowley

Costume Supervisor
Tamsyn Balogh Caristo
Lucy Francis

Costume Makers
Jasmin Gray
Natalie De Palo
Maverick Durkin
Nina Price
Delan Woods

Props Supervisor & Maker
Ally Vyner

Props Maker
Jules Bisschoff

Production Manager
Alexis Worthing

Technical Manager
Pip Morey

Stage Manager
Chris Milburn

Assistant Stage Manager
Claire Edmonds-Wilson

Construction Manager
Josh Abbot

Head Electrician
Joel Montgomery

Set Design Assistant
Elle Fitzgerald

Costume Design Assistant
Paris Koppens

Props Assistant
Caleb Jackson

Sets Assistant
Gareth Sole

Costume Assistants
Hemdah Moore

This production may contain strong language, adult themes, theatrical haze and strobe lighting.

* = Guest
** = Staff
***=Diploma of Stage and Screen Performance