NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.

dollar-line light

NIDA writers nominated for AWGIES

NIDA congratulates our alumni who have been nominated in the prestigious AWGIE awards.

NIDA congratulates our alumni who have been nominated in the prestigious AWGIE awards.

Since 1968 the Australian Writers’ Guild has presented the AWGIE Awards to recognise and reward excellence in writing for stage and screen. In the years since their inception the list of AWGIE Award winners has included writers whose stories have shaped our national culture including feature films, theatre, TV series and serials, miniseries and children’s animated programs. NIDA alumni Richie Black Richie Black (Writing for Performance, 2016) won the 2016 AWGIE Award (Radio – Original) for Happy Monday – a script he wrote while studying at NIDA.

The AWGIE Awards are unique in the industry in that they are the only writers’ awards judged solely by writers, and the judging is based on the written script – the writer’s intention rather than the finished product. Awards will be presented across 18 categories including feature film, television, documentary, theatre, audio, animation and interactive media. Individual category winners will be eligible for the Major Award, given to the most outstanding script of the year. The winners of the AWGIE Awards 2019 will be announced on August 22 in Sydney at the City Recital Hall.

NIDA congratulates the following alumni who have been nominated in these categories:

On the Ropes – Tamara Asmar (Playwrights Studio, 2003), Adam Todd and Ian Meadows

Degenerate Art – Toby Schmitz (Acting, 1999)
The Long Forgotten Dream – Howard Lawrence Sumner (Directing, 2013)
Lost Boys – Lachlan Philpott (Playwrights Studio, 2003)

A Ghost In My Suitcase – Vanessa Bates (Playwrights Studio, 1994)

NIDA Course leader and Senior Lecturer Writing for Performance Dr Stephen Sewell said: 'NIDA is immensely proud of our writers and of the contribution they are making to Australian culture and our understanding of ourselves and the world. This is a great achievement for themselves and for NIDA."

For more information about NIDA's Master of Fine Arts (Writing for Performance) course and how to apply for 2020,

A full list of the AWGIE nominations are here.

Related News