NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.

dollar-line light

NIDA celebrates the achievements of MFA and BFA students with awards and scholarships

In its 60th year, NIDA celebrated the achievements of its students with the awarding of several annual awards and scholarships.

Photo: NIDA staff address the school to award several bursaries and scholarships for 2019.

In its 60th year, NIDA celebrated the achievements of its Master and Bachelor of Fine Arts students with the awarding of several annual awards and scholarships.

Departing NIDA CEO Jennifer Bott AO opened the all-school event and congratulated the students on their innovation, excellence and outstanding results. She also thanked the many donors and supporters of NIDA students who supported them through the NIDA Scholarships and Bursaries fund.

Dr Amanda Morris, Executive Director Conservatoire, said that the aim of the awards was to encourage and support third-year students in their future careers, and several second-year students to support them in their final year at NIDA.

Dr Julie Lynch, Director Centre for Design Practices, awarded the Judith Meschke Award to final year student Victoria Perry (BFA Costume). She also awarded the  MFA Design Award for excellence in creativity, consistency and collaboration to Olivia Rowlands (MFA Design for Performance).

The Laurie Cowled International Placement Scholarship was awarded to final year student Evelyn Everaert-Donaldson (BFA Costume).

NIDA Director Centre for Technology, Production and Management Graham Henstock awarded the Peter Baynes Memorial Scholarship to second-year student Fiona Lloyd Harding (BFA TTSM).

Nick Day, Head of Scenic Construction and Technologies, awarded the Peter Ivany AM International Placement Scholarship to final year student Eileen Ortiona (BFA Staging).

Marcelo Zavala-Baeza, Head of Properties and Objects, awarded the Billy Ostadal International Placement Scholarship to final year student Sophie Howard (BFA Props).

John Bashford, Head of Acting, awarded three scholarships to Acting students. The Keith Bain OAM Scholarship for Movement was awarded to final-year student Lewis McLeod (BFA Acting).

The Hazel Treweek Shakespeare Award was awarded to second-year BFA (acting) students Thomas Hughes and Zoe Resnick.

The Arna Maria Winchester Award was awarded to final-year student Bronte Thomson-Sparrow (BFA Acting).

If it were not for the generosity of NIDA’s philanthropic community many of our talented and skilled students would not have been able to continue or complete their studies, nor undertake international placements which are essential to enhancing their performing arts skills and optimising their careers. More information about NIDA scholarships and bursaries and how you can contribute, here.

Related News