NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.

dollar-line light

AACTA 2022 Nominations


IMAGE: Courtesy of AACTA Awards 2022

AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella said “The Australian Academy proudly celebrates achievements in all screen mediums and craft, and it is a privilege to announce the nominees vying for an AACTA Award. These nominees represent the freshest and most captivating works that have entertained us from the past year, as determined by Australia’s largest screen community. The broad range of content that has been nominated reflects the vastness of the Australian screen landscape, and the depth of our talent.”

Baz Luhrmann’s biopic, Elvis leads the nominations for the film categories, with fifteen nominations including Catherine Martin (Design, 1988) for Best Costume Design, Baz Luhrmann (Acting, 1985) for Best Direction, Baz Luhrmann and Craig Pearce (Acting, 1984) for Best Screenplay and Baz Luhrmann and Catherine Martin for Best Film.


IMAGE: Elvis, nominated for Best Film, Best Director, Best Costume, Best Screenplay – Baz Luhrmann (Acting, 1985), Catherine Martin (Design, 1988) and Craig Pearce (Acting, 1984), Courtesy of AACTA Awards 2022

The prequel series, Mystery Road: Origin dominates the television award categories, also receiving fifteen nominations, with Tuuli Narkle (Acting, 2018) nominated for Best Lead Actress in a Drama and Steve Bisley (Acting, 1977) for Best Supporting Actor in a Drama.


IMAGE: Sissy, nominated for Best Director  – Hannah Barlow (Acting, 2013), Courtesy of AACTA Awards 2022

Other notable alumni receiving nominations include Rob Collins (Acting, 2013) for Best Lead Actor in Film for Leah Purcell's The Drover's Wife The Legend of Molly Johnson, Hannah Barlow (Acting, 2013) for Best Direction in Film for horror comedy, Sissy, Bojana Novakovic (Acting, 2002) and Hugo Weaving (Acting, 1981) for Best Lead Actress and Best Lead Actor in drama series, Love Me.

Many talented female alumni are also up for an award in categories comprising Best Supporting Actress in a Drama or in Film: Jacqueline McKenzie (Acting 1990), Heather Mitchell (Acting, 1980), Yael Stone (Acting 2006), and Harriet Dyer (Acting, 2007) and Doris Younane (Acting, 1986) for Best Comedy Performer. Xanthe Huebel (Design, 2003), Rita Carmody (Costume, 2007), Tess Schofield (Design, 1986) and Kym Barrett (Design, 1989) are all nominees of a technical craft award for Best Costume Design in Television or Film.

See a full list of the 2022 AACTA nominees here:

The Australian Academy of Cinema Television Arts (AACTA) will be presented across two ceremonies on Monday, 5 December and Wednesday, 7 December.

Chookas to all NIDA alumni nominees during this exciting awards season.

Related News