NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.


NIDA design students and alumni sweep up APDG Awards

NIDA design students and alumni were amongst the glittering array of 2019 APDG Award winners.

Photo: NIDA Director Centre for Design Practices Dr Julie Lynch APDG with Brianna Russell.

Congratulations to the NIDA design alumni and students at the 2019 APDG Awards presented on Sunday 1 December in Melbourne.

The APDG Awards is an annual event that gathers the work of professionals from the Australian film, television, stage and interactive multimedia industries, to celebrate the art of visually captivating audiences the world over. The awards recognise outstanding achievements and excellence in design.

The winners of this year’s Awards include some of the break-out work of the last financial year, from newly commissioned pieces to big Hollywood blockbusters. Australian designers are at the forefront of the industry.

Stephen Curtis, Senior Lecturer Design at NIDA, said that ‘NIDA designers – current students, recently graduating and those that have been out working in the industry for a number of years – are very well represented again this year in the APDG Awards. It is exciting to see skill their creativity, skill and drive recognised in this way.’

Photo: NIDA Senior Lecturer Design Stephen Curtis.

Photo: NIDA Director Centre for Design Practices Dr Julie Lynch APDG with NIDA students.

Congratulations to these NIDA alumni and students who won awards:

AFTRS Award for Student or Emerging Designer for screen: for animation, costume, production or VFX Design
Sweet Tooth
Costume Designer, Sabina Myers (MFA Design, 2017)
Emma Bourke, Production Designer
Barry Jarrot, Art Director

The NIDA Foundation Trust Award for Emerging Design of live performance
Wake in Fright
Set and Costume Designer
Brianna Russell (Design, 2017)

Hero Frock Hire Award for Costume Design for a feature film
Judy and Punch
Edie Kurzer (Design, 1978)

Lighting Design for a live performance
Death of Salesman
Verity Hampson (TTSM, 2005)

Next Printing Award for Set Design for a live performance
Madame Butterfly
Michael Scott-Mitchell APDG (Design, 1983)

New York Film Academy Australia Production Design for a television drama or web series
A Place To Call Home Series 6
Fiona Donovan (Design, 1992)

Design for a short film or music clip
The Egg

Production Designer
Jacqui Schofield (Design, 2013)