NIDA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands on which we learn and tell stories, the Bidjigal, Gadigal, Dharawal and Dharug peoples, and we pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.

dollar-line light

AACTA Awards for NIDA alumni in glittering event

NIDA congratulates the outstanding alumni who received awards at the 2021 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Awards this week at the Sydney Opera House.

This year, 12 NIDA alumni were nominated for AACTA Awards and more than 85 alumni have played key roles in nominated programs across 35 films, TV series and shorts.

Best Lead Actress Judy Davis (Acting, 1977) (above).

Justin Kurzel's (Design, 1995), powerhouse feature film Nitram scored eight wins including Best Film, Best Direction for Kurzel, Best Lead Actress Judy Davis (Acting, 1977) and Best Supporting Actress Essie Davis (Acting, 1992) (above).

Best Supporting Actress Essie Davis (Acting, 1992) (above).

All My Friends Are Racist, created and written by Enoch Mailangi (Writing for Performance, 2021) and starring Tuuli Narkle (Acting, 2018) won Best Short Form Comedy.

The Tailings won Best Short Form Drama, featuring Mabel Li (Acting, 2019), Kris McQuade (Acting, 1971) Nic English (Acting, 2017) and Shaun Martindale (Singer Actor Dancer program, 2000).

Anna Torv (Acting, 2001) won for Best Actress in Drama (The Newsreader).

Fires won Best Miniseries or Telefeature starring Miranda Otto (Acting, 1990) and Richard Roxburgh (Acting, 1986).

Wentworth won the audience voted Favourite Television Drama starring Katrina Milosevic (Acting, 1997), Susie Porter (Acting, 1995 ) Kate Box (Acting, 2003) and Vivienne Awosoga (Acting, 2018; Diploma Musical Theatre, 2015) (above).

Katrina Milosevic (Acting, 1997) (above).

Ellie & Abbie (& Ellie's Dead Aunt) won Best Indie Film with Executive producer is Spencer McLaren (Acting, 1990), starring Julia Billington (Acting, 2008) with production design by Jamie Cranney (Design, 2010).

The Dry won the audience-voted Favourite Film award and features Genevieve O’Reilly (Acting, 2000) and Miranda Tapsell (Acting, 2008).

Alumni were also stars of the red-carpet with Sarah Snook (Acting, 2008) (below), David Berry (Acting 2010), Chika Ikogwe (Acting, 2018) and many more in attendance.

For a complete list of winners, here.

Images courtesy: Getty/AACTA

Related News