• Donors

List of donors to NIDA

Our donors and sponsors help make everything at NIDA possible.

Donations and planned gifts help us to:

  • support diversity in the Australian arts industry
  • stay at the forefront of dramatic arts training in Australia and internationally
  • give our students access to the highest quality materials and technology.

Our donors

NIDA and the NIDA Foundation Trust celebrate the generosity, loyalty and long-term commitment of our donors, whose gifts enable us to offer a high quality program of activity to our students. We acknowledge the lifetime contributions of our current donors. We also thank those donors and supporters who wish to remain anonymous.

All gifts are acknowledged in NIDA collateral and on this website. Gifts over $1,000 are also acknowledged on the Honour Wall in the Nancy Fairfax Foyer of NIDA Theatres.

Donate now

Honorary governors

Andrew & Andrea Banks
The late Nick Enright AM
The late Lady (Vincent) Fairfax AO OBE
The late Frederick J Gibson
Mel Gibson AO
Joy & Dr Reg Grundy AC OBE
The late Dr Rodney Seaborn AO OBE

Over $100,000

Cowled Foundation
Free TV Australia
Girgensohn Foundation
Helpmann Family Fellowships
Ivany Foundation
Ian Potter Foundation
Seaborn, Broughton & Walford Foundation
Wolanski Foundation

Over $50,000

Roger Allen AM & Maggie Gray
Ian & Carole Byrnes
Creative Partnerships Australia
Martin Dickson AM & Susie Dickson
Robertson Foundation


Bruce Davey
Denton Family Foundation
The Japan Foundation
Don & Leslie Parsonage
Ted Blamey
Alex Pollak & Elizabeth Knight
Net-A-Porter Group
Taylor Construction Group
Jennifer Bott AO
Noel & Hetty Cislowski
Alison Harvie
David & Margo Lowy
Steven & Judy Lowy
Marshall Family Foundation
Steven & Carol Moss
National Library of Australia Community Heritage Grants
Sarah Auld
The Bennelong Club – Friends of Sydney Opera House
Julia Selby
Zara Selby
US Consulate General, Sydney
Jen Bichel-Findlay
Bruce & Barbara Solomon

NIDA would also like to thank those donors and supporters who wish to remain anonymous.

Scholarships in perpetuity

The Keith Bain OAM Scholarship in Movement
Malcolm Chaikin Scholarship Fund
Pam Dawson Memorial Scholarship (Funded by Tokiko Dawson)
Gallery First Nighters Scholarship
The Ben Gannon Scholarship
Mel Gibson/ Village Roadshow Scholarship
Margaret Gillespie and Pauline Price Scholarship
Helpmann Family Fellowships
Dawn O'Donnell Scholarship
J G Reynolds Scholarship
Geoff Richards Memorial Scholarship (Funded by The Byrnes Foundation)
Geoffrey Rothwell Scholarship
The Shark Island Foundation Scholarship
Frank Thring Scholarship (TTT Trust)
Hazel Treweek Shakespeare Awards
Viennese Theatre Scholarship


Keith Bain OAM
Frederick James Blackwood
Nick Enright AM
Lady (Vincent) Fairfax AO OBE
Ben Gannon AO
Frederick J Gibson Bequest in memory of Garnet H Carroll OBE
Rodney Jones
Norman McVicker OAM
Dawn O'Donnell
Dr Rodney Seaborn AO OBE
Hazel Treweek OAM MBE

Annual Scholarships & Bursaries

Roger Allen & Maggie Gray Scholarship
June Baker Scholarship
Andrew & Andrea Banks Bursary
Peter Baynes Memorial Scholarship (Funded by Kari Baynes)
Bruce Caldwell Scholarship
Ruth Cowled Design Fund
Ruth Cowled Memorial Scholarship
Bruce Gyngell Award (Funded by Free TV Australia) 
ICON / Dendy Scholarship
Peter Ivany AM International Scholarship in Staging (Funded by friends of Peter Ivany)
Laidlaw Foundation Scholarship
Diana Large AO Scholarship (Funded by Fiona Cotton) 
Media Super Bursaries
June Penn Bursary (Funded by The Penn Foundation)
Ezekiel Solomon AM Bursary
Ross Steele AM Scholarship
Brian J Sutton Charitable Trust Scholarship in memory of Keith Bain OAM (Managed by Perpetual Trustees)
Wolanski Foundation Scholarship


BBM Youth Award
William Fletcher Foundation
The Gloria Payton Foundation and the Gloria Dawn Foundation
Ken Healey Playwrights Award
Arna Maria Winchester Award
The Leslie Walford AM Award

NIDA named spaces

The Caledonia Foundation Rehearsal Room
The Hon. John Dawson-Damer Rehearsal Room
James Fairfax AO Foyer
James Fairfax AO Rehearsal Room
Nancy Fairfax Foyer
The Frederick J Gibson Gallery
David Gonski AC & Richard Longes Foyer
Reg Grundy Studio
The Lowy Family Student Green Room
Robert Quentin Courtyard & Sculpture
Rodney Seaborn Library
Southern Star Courtyard
Fred & Dorothy Street Gallery
Westfield Garden & Amphitheatre
Andrew Banks Floor 
Peter Ivany Reception Room 
Paradice Reception Rooms 
Luminis Foundation Directors' Black Box
Malek Voice Studio

NIDA celebrates the loyalty and long-term commitment of its donors, acknowledging the lifetime contributions of its current donors.

NIDA would also like to thank those donors and supporters who wish to remain anonymous. 

Page functions